Talented Young Italians and Keynes Sraffa Awards

 Talented Young Italians and Keynes Sraffa Awards 

Thursday 20 November 2014, 6PM – 8PM 

Church House Conference Centre 

Dean’s Yard, London SW1P 3NZ

The Italian Chamber of Commerce and Industry for the UK – in collaboration with the Italian Embassy in London and with the patronage of H.E. Pasquale Terracciano, the Italian Ambassador – is pleased to announce the first edition of the “Talented Young Italians” Award.

Speakers of the Annual Conference such as Pier Carlo Padoan, Italian Minister of Economy and Finance, John Elkann, Chairman, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles NV, andLorenzo Simonelli, CEO, GE Oil and Gas will be also attending the reception.

On the same evening there will also be the “Keynes Sraffa” Award. The aim of this prestigious award is to honour outstanding Italian and English individuals who epitomise the cooperation between this country and Italy.

Ticket prices per person as follows:

– Ceremony and cocktail: 15£.

– Dinner: 95£*(including the cocktail and ceremony fees)


18.00 – 18.30     Registration and coffee at Bishop Partridge Hall

18.30 – 19.00     Welcome speech and Introduction at Hoare Memorial Hall

19.00 – 20.00    Award Ceremony

20.00 – 20.30    Cocktail

20.30 Dinner and Keynes Sraffa Award at Assembly Hall (optional)

The aim of this award is to bring to public attention the individuals who have succeeded in their endeavour in the UK, keeping at the same time a link with Italy and fostering the exchanges between the two countries.

The most distinguished individuals will be awarded in each of the following categories:

• Finance and Services;
• Industry and Commerce;
• Research and Innovation;
• Media and Communication.

Requisites for the award are:

• Under 40 years;
• UK resident;
• Holding a high visibility and responsible role in her/his field of activity in the UK;
• Having a track record of positive collaborations with Italy.

Scouting for valid candidates was conducted by the Chamber of Commerce with the aid of Italian professional and academic associations in the UK and with the contribution of the Italian community at large. A committee of senior representatives, covering the different categories of awards, has evaluated the applications.

Lord Keynes and Professor Sraffa were excellent examples of co-operation in the history of economics and so were, in their respective fields and areas of responsability, the people who received the award named after two of the greatest economists.

In previous years the following personalities have received the award Lord Eddie George, Antonio Fazio, Luca Cordero di Montezemolo, John Sunderland, Arun Sarin, Vittorio Merloni, Andrew Witty, Stefano Pessina, Helen Alexander, Emma Marcegaglia, David Willetts and Francesco Profumo.

More information can be found at this link http://www.italchamind.eu/EN/

The Italian Society Team